Disorders Intro

I was having a conversation with a friend, and she happened to say, “I have a lot of problems.”  My almost immediate response was to ask myself a rhetorical question, “Doesn’t everyone?”  I’m a very introverted person and try to be mindful of what people think of me.  So I may not ever show it outwardly, but I have a lot of problems myself.  Doesn’t everyone?

Over the next couple of days, I will be starting a series on the kinds of problems I have.  Each day will highlight a specific problem that I think I have and relate it with an actual psychological/physical/clinical disorder.  You might be thinking, “That’s pretty ballsy, dude.  How are you ever gonna find friends, let alone a girlfriend/wife?”  Therein comes the GC.

Gospel Connection: It was easy for the Pharisees to love other Pharisees.  It’s easy for us to love other capable, sociable, noble people.  But the beauty in the Church comes from- not the self-righteous qualities individuals have that would merit recognition but in- the unifying acknowledgement that we are all sinners.  The common denominator amongst all human beings is that we’re flawed, and more specifically amongst Christians, is that we admit to that fact.  This is kind of a cheesy quote, but it always puts things in perspective for me:

We come to love not by finding the perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.

– –

DISCLAIMER: If you happen to have/are diagnosed with any of the disorders mentioned hereafter, please do not take offense from my entries.  It is not my intention to undermine that particular disorder, but more so emphasize my own flaws and quirks.  Think of it not as a denigration of you, but rather a satire of Nameun.

Tags: ,

One Trackback to “Disorders Intro”

Leave a Reply

